Home > Online Marketing > I Think You’re Cute – a Facebook Love Story

I Think You’re Cute – a Facebook Love Story

Yes, we struggle everyday with managing our personal versus professional presences online. It’s not like we need a separate avatar for each of our multiple personalities; rather we understand that separately segmented audiences require separately segmented conversations for relevance, culture, etc.

And yes, we struggle everyday with learning new concepts, ideas, technologies, and we have our own comfy place on the technology adoption curve.

Professionally I do a lot of work in Facebook as part of the role at my company. I create and manage advertisements for one, and I monitor conversations. I try to draw more eyeballs to posts and I “like” certain posts. Particularly the one below.

I Think You’re Cute

I was pleasantly surprised to see this post from Bill who happens to be my father, married to my mother for more than 50 count’em years. Without going into age details, Dad is not at his prime age for marathons. He’s got grandkids and a great grandkid. He’s not the prime age target for Facebook. He’s not a technical genius nor an early adopter.

So I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Bill IS a new facebooker, facilitated no doubt by the (mysterious) ipad thing that I gave to him.

And Dad definitely knows how to use new media (hmmm, maybe it’s all in the genes). Because the post that you see is not just any post from a teenager to a sweetheart, it’s the first post that Dad made on my Mom’s new Facebook wall.

Sure it’s every kid’s dream to know that their parents are crazy in love 50 years running, and I can’t even tell you how appreciative my siblings and I are every day of this blessing. But now this love story gets to be played out in social media, you know the same place where I’m “liking” technical virtualization storage platform videos, and promoting Cloud Storage for Dummies. It’s the ultimate contrast between personal and professional use. And yet it’s all part of a new and exciting opportunity of communicating things… things that have maybe even been around for a lot of years.

So the morale of this love story?

1) If you think you are too old for Facebook, you are not.

2) If you think you aren’t techie enough for this new media thing, well, you probably are.

3) If you are stressing on separating personal from professional Facebook personas, you can probably relax.

4) If you haven’t found the love stories in the products and services you promote, they are probably there waiting

5) Oh, and if you think there is no such thing as true love, well you’re probably wrong on that one.

Mom, Dad and Facebook, I think you’re all really cute

Look forward to your Facebook love stories!

Categories: Online Marketing
  1. cycloner1
    January 2, 2012 at 09:57

    Great story! And he even figured out how to use an emoticon on his first post!

  2. Veeresh Shivakumar
    April 25, 2011 at 21:34

    Very cute indeed, Feeling the real wow moment. The Y generation has many platforms to express…!!!
    With this post I started thinking as no gap exists between the generations. Probably that’s what technology is bringing into our lives.

  3. Anonymous
    April 25, 2011 at 21:25

    Very cute indeed, feeling the real wow moment.
    The Y generation has so many platforms to express …. !!!
    With this post I started feeling no gap exists between the generations. probably that’s what technology is bringing it to our lives.

  4. Sharon Crost
    April 23, 2011 at 21:12

    Thanks Michael, I am really happy to hear this news! One of the intrinsic rewards of teaching is getting a chance to plant seeds/inspire. And especially today, Earth day, I wish you all the best that these seeds will grow strongly in your new world of communications.

  5. Michael Okhidie
    April 22, 2011 at 17:11

    Sharon, this is indeed a beautiful (love) story. Combining the take-aways from your class and that of Lukaz has really increased my desire to explore more the exciting world of Social Media. I hope someday I can share this kind of amazing experience.

    Cheers

    Michael

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

