Home > Online Marketing > Stolen – New uses of social media

Stolen – New uses of social media

stolenI happened to see quite a few of these posters on my less-than-one-mile drive to the post office today.  This definitely stood out to me.  I was clearly impressed that someone did a wonderful job of word-processing this flyer.  It had many of the makings of a good marketing campaign – a visual image of the object, technical details, a contact number clearly displayed and a call to action (reward).  It also had the makings of buzz – unique, unusual, memorable.  Somebody invested the time in distribution:  printing and stapling many flyers to many phone posts around town.  So I wonder???  if in a world not so long from now we could use social media to quickly and effectively communicate this problem and help the owner recover the stolen goods.   Could we tag it, twitter it, microblog news to our local sheriff’s office?  OK, granted in our community we still don’t have decent broadband access (which I’m working on), but to encourage demand and new participation in the web 2.o world, I’m always on the lookout for good uses of social media.   But for now, I’m on the lookout for a Green and Black E-Z-Go Utility Vehicle…

  1. Siobhan
    March 21, 2009 at 19:46

    I like it… and I agree.. and I can’t wait to see you as guest presenter in Wellington, New Zealand at http://www.marketingnow.co.nz !!

    Siobhan Bulfin
    Social media and online marketing advisor, New Zealand
    x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

