Home > Online Marketing > Why wouldn’t Marketing Masters use Wikipedia?

Why wouldn’t Marketing Masters use Wikipedia?

On Thursday in class I made a suggestion to students to look up unknown terms in Wikipedia and one of the students replied that another professor (professors?) recommended against using it.  I think this was probably a misunderstanding, well I hope so.  But the comment surprised me, so I am wondering about this subject.

Our marketing world (particularly the Web 2.0 world) is evolving so quickly that this reference site is a great way of getting new information.  I used the  term “feedburner” as an example.   Not a lot of the students knew about feedburner, let alone RSS.   Google paid attention, then paid millions for feedburner …  shouldn’t curious, learning students type stuff like this in Wikipedia and get quick answers?

But why stop there, go Web 3.0, let’s talk wikianswers and askwiki…

There’s never been a more fun time for me to be a marketer with almost limitless (except for budget) possibilities that far exceed what I used to be able to do with the 4Ps marketing mix (yeah, type that in wikipedia)…

So what do you think, why wouldn’t Marketing Masters use Wikipedia?

  1. Anonymous
    October 1, 2010 at 09:46

    hey guys i’m someone who faced the problem of researching for good schools for masters of science in marketing and didnt find anything on wikipedia.. has anyone heard of the columbia university one??? is it good or bad??

  2. August 31, 2008 at 20:07

    Hi!,

  3. Marc Personnet
    May 2, 2008 at 04:54

    I am one of those MSc marketing students who brought up the debate…
    To my opinion, Wikipedia can be used as an excellent stepstone. from wiki information, it brings us ideas, new thoughts we cannot necessarily thing of off hand, but it helps us understand where we can head, in order to find true information, what type of true information. This way, we know in what direction we can head to get the good information.

  4. Irakli Matkava
    March 6, 2008 at 05:46

    I have to agree with Ryan, teaching myself, I tell my students not use wiki as a reference in academic papers, exactly for the reason it is not peer-reviewed and neither author nor content can not be verified.

    But then again, Wiki is an extremely powerful and useful resource offering whole wealth of info, probebly best shortcut to get some basic ideas (and sometimes more) about something unfamiliar.

  5. Viktor Gaybadullin
    February 28, 2008 at 03:18

    I believe that Wikipedia is quate a useful instrument to get the information on the broad range of things.
    I have personally used it very effectively while preparing my MBA assignments (e.g. Strategic Management and Business Law).
    Of course it is not a professional resource but contains a great deal of extremely useful links to the sites which can give you the information you are looking for.

  6. Ryan Sullivan
    February 27, 2008 at 12:33

    I am also a great fan of Wikipedia. I find it the best source for getting an UP TO DATE summaries on nearly any topic. And if one’s interest is piqued, they need can click on sources or related articles to drill down deeper. I have traded in my encyclopedia;)

    Recently, a professor cautioned us (students) not to use Wikipedia as an source for papers, because the authors cannot be verified. Perhaps that is what your student’s professor meant?

  7. Marwan Moubarak
    February 25, 2008 at 08:28

    I personally use wikipedia very oftenly…after all it is an online Encyclopedia and for free.

    It makes the access of information much easier. If I need the definition of a word or to know about the population of a particular country, wikipedia is here to serve…

  1. March 10, 2009 at 20:12
  2. March 10, 2009 at 19:10

Leave a Reply

